Recent News

By Month

See all

Advanced Energy Companies Urge Support for Ron Binz as FERC Chair

Posted by Industry News on Sep 16, 2013

AEE's CEO Graham Richard released the following statement today regarding the nomination of Ron Binz for chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Comission:

“AEE joins a wide variety of industry leaders in supporting the nomination of Ron Binz for chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,” said Graham Richard, CEO of Advanced Energy Economy, a national business association. “Ron Binz understands the transformation of energy markets that is under way at both the state and federal levels. He also understands the role of regulatory authorities in guiding that transformation. In a 34-year career, he has shown himself to be an innovative energy expert and a balanced regulator who appreciates the challenges faced by our energy system. As head of FERC, he will be a leader in the nation's transition to a future of secure, clean, affordable energy.”

AEE brought together a coalition of advanced energy companies to release a letter in support of the Binz nomination, which you can read below. You can also download the pdf of the letter here

Dear Senator Wyden and Senator Murkowski,

As energy business leaders from across the country, we are writing to share our strong support for the nomination of Ron Binz as chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Throughout his 34-year career, Mr. Binz has built a strong record as an innovative energy expert and balanced regulator that understands the challenges faced by our energy system as it becomes more secure, clean, and affordable.

FERC is responsible for regulating the interstate transmission of energy under its congressionally approved authority and must balance the needs and interests of many parties within the evolving energy landscape. When he was chairman of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission, Mr. Binz assisted the state's general assembly in designing advanced energy legislation that won bipartisan support and broad consensus from energy companies, NGO advocates, and the state's major utility. In his role, he also oversaw regulations for a smooth transition to a more efficient energy system with more diverse energy technologies, while minimizing rate impacts to consumers. From 2006 through 2010, non-hydroelectric renewable generation increased by nearly 400% in Colorado, while the average monthly residential electric bill for customers of the state’s major utility rose less than the rate of inflation.

In his role as an independent energy consultant, Mr. Binz has authored numerous studies on how our energy system can become more risk-resilient, efficient, and smarter. Earlier in his career, he spent 11 years as Colorado's first utility consumer advocate and saved residential and small business consumers millions of dollars. His experience interfacing with other countries in his role as a regulator and consultant will also serve him well at FERC.

Given his proven leadership as an expert energy analyst and balanced regulator, we respectfully urge you to support the nomination of Ron Binz as FERC Chairman.



Graham Richard



Agile Energy, Glen Davis, CEO. Active in CA, OH

Ambri, Phil Giudice, CEO. Active in MA

Arctic Sun, Karl Kassel, General Manager. Active in AK

Argand Energy Solutions, Erik Lensch, President & CEO. Active in GA, MD, NC, SC, TN

Astraeus Wind Energy, Roger Cope, Chairman. Active in IA, MI

Borrego Solar Systems, Mike Hall, CEO. Active in CA, MA, NY, NC, PR, TX

Brightman Energy, Joel Serface & Monty Humble, Managing Director. Active in CO, TX

Center Advancing Sustainable Architecture, Phyllis Kaplan, Executive Director. Active in NM

Colorado Cleantech Industry Association, Christine Shapard, Executive Director. Active in CO

Conservation Services Group, Pat Stanton, Senior VP of Policy & Advocacy. Active in AL, AZ, CA, GA, IL, IA, KY, ME, MA, MN, MS, MO, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OH, OR, PA, RI, SD, TN, VA, WA, WI

Cool Energy, Sam Weaver, CEO. Active in CO, TN

Dakini Design & Consulting, Anna Hansen, Owner. Active in NM

Ecoplexus, Erik Stuebe, President. Active in CA, CO, GA, NJ, NY, NC

Ecotelligent Homes, Amanda Godward, Owner. Active in MI

Ecoterra Enterprises, Dalinda Bangert, President. Active in NM

EnerNOC, Tim Healy, CEO. Active in AL, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, ID, IL, KY, MS, MA, ME, MD, MI, NH, NY, NJ, NC, NM, OH, OR, PA, RI, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WV

Eos Energy Storage, Steve Hellman, President. Active in NJ, NY

Everblue, Cadi Saunders, Business Development Manager. Active across 50 states

First Wind, Paul Gaynor, CEO. Active in CA, HI, ID, MA, ME, NY, UT, VT, WA

FLSEnergy, Michael Shore, CEO. Active in AL, CA, GA, HI, MD, NC, SC, TN

Flynn IP Law, Kevin E. Flynn, Founder. Active in NC

Four Elements Energy, Art Toy, President. Active in MI

General Catalyst, Hemant Taneja, Managing Director, Active in CA, MA, NY

Go Sustainable Energy, John Seryak, CEO. Active in CT, IL, IN, MI, OH, PA, WV, WI

GreenerU, Rob Pratt, Chairman & CEO. Active in CT, MA, NH, RI

Growth Capital Network, Lauren Bigelow, CEO. Active in MI

Handy Law LLC, Seth Hardy, Principal. Active in MA, RI

Harvest Power, Wayne Davis, VP of Government & Community Affairs. Active in CA, FL, MA

Heartwood Group, Fred Unger, President. Active in CT, MA, RI

Home and Gardens Inspiration, Jean Eisenhower, Proprietor. Active in AZ, NM

Independence Solar, James Schwartz, VP. Active in CT, DE, MA, MD, NJ, NY, PA, RI

Intellimetrix, Doug Abbott, Principal Consultant. Active in NM

juwi Solar, Michael Martin, CEO. Active in AZ, CO, DE, FL, NV, NJ, NC, OH, TX

juwi Wind LLC, Michael Rucker, CEO. Active in AZ, CO, IN, KS, MN, NC, OH

Longwood Energy Group LLC, Scott Englander, President. Active in MA

Lucintech Inc, Alvin Compaan, President & CTO. Active in CO, NY, OH

Mascoma, William Brady, President & CEO. Active in MA, MI, NH, NY, SD

Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council, Dan Scripps, President. Active in MI

Namaste Solar, Jason Wiener, General Counsel & Co-owner. Active in CO

New England Clean Energy Council, Peter Rothstein, President and Janet Besser, VP Policy & Government Affairs. Active in CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT

North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association, Ivan Urlaub, Executive Director. Active in NC

O2energies Inc, Olee Joel Olsen Jr., CEO. Active in GA, NC, SC, TN, VA

OPower, Jim Kapsis, Senior Director, Market Development & Strategy. Active in AK, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, IL, IN, KY, MA, MD, MI, MN, MO, NC, NH, NJ, NM, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, TX, UT, VA, WA

Own Energy, Jacob Susman, CEO. Active in IA, IL, KS, LA, ME, MI, MT, NE, NY, OH, OK, PA, SD, TN, TX, VT, WI

Pure Eco Environmental Solutions, Ryan Oswald, President. Active in MI

Recurrent Energy, Arno Harris, CEO. Active in AZ, CA

RES Americas, Anna Giovinetto, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Active in CO, TX, MN, KS, WA, and NV

Resolute Marine Energy Inc, Bill Staby, CEO. Active in AK, MA, NC, RI

Solar Smart Living LLC, Lorenzo Perea, President. Active in NM, TX

SolarLogic LLC, Claudia Perea, Director of Sales & Marketing. Active in NM, TX

SolarVento, Rachel Tronstein, Partner. Active in MI

Spirae, Sunil Cherian, CEO. Active in CO

Stella Group Ltd, Scott Sklar, President. Active in DC, VA

Sun & Earth Inc, Jim Graham, President. Active in NM

SunEdison, Kevin Lapidus, Senior VP Business Development. Active in CA, CO, MD, NJ, TX

Sustainable Energy Services Inc, Tom Sherman, President. Active in FL, IN, KY, MI, OH, PA, TX

Tremont Electric Inc, Aaron LeMieux, Founder & CEO. Active in OH

Vermont Energy Investment Corporation, Scott Johnstone, Executive Director. Active in VT

Yes! Solar Solutions, Kathy Miller, VP. Active in NC, SC, VA

5 Lakes Energy, Stanley Pruss, Liesel Eichler Clark, & Douglas Jester, Principals. Active in DC, MI


Topics: Press Releases